Connect with us


FULL LIST: Osas Ighodaro, Josh2funny, Deyemi Okanlawon, others nominated for AMAA 2022



The Africa Movie Academy Awards have nominated several actors, including Deyemi Okanlawon, Osas Ighodaro, Akah Nnani, Nse Ikpe-Etim, and Ijeoma Grace Agu (AMAA).

The contestants for the coveted prize, which will be presented in Lagos in October 2022, were introduced by the organizers on September 21, 2022.

Other Nigerian contenders for the year include Walter Waltbanger Taylaur’s Jolly Roger, Bolanle Austen Peters’ Man of God, Kunle Afolayan’s 2021 Netflix original Swallow, and Kunle Afolayan’s Swallow.

See the full list below.

Efere Ozako AMAA 2022 Award for Best Short film.

Enroute -Burkina Faso.

Al-Sit -Sudan Astel -Senegal.

A Lisbon Affair- Angola.

Mamadou – Equatorial Guinea.

Houminvi – Benin.

Men-tally- Nigeria.

Tender Threads – Morocco.

Jubril Malafia AMAA 2022 Award for Best Animation.

On the Surface – Iceland.

Opal – Martinique.

Kenda – Cote D’Ivoire.

No Way Out – Uganda.

Skin Like Mine –USA.

PTD – Nigeria.

Best Documentary.

Taamaden – Mali.

No Simple Way Home -Sudan.

The Last Shelter – Mali.

No U Turn – Nigeria.

Transaction – Zimbabwe.

Lobola, a Bride’s True Price?- South Africa.

Africa Moot – South Africa.

When a Farm Goes Aflame- Nigeria/Germany.

AMAA 2022 Ousmane Sembene Award for Best Film in an African Language.

Borga – Ghana.

Tug of War – Tanzania.

Tembele – Uganda.

Surviving Gaza – South Africa.

Alaise – Nigeria.

Medicine Man – Kenya.

AMAA 2022 National Film & Video Censors Board (NFVCB) Award for Best Nigerian Film.

Man of God.



Jolly Roger.


Money Miss Road.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Young/Promising Actor.

Emmanuel Afffadzi – Borga.

Kebirungi Agnes Knight – Tinka’s Story.

Amina Mohammed – Ayaanle.

Maryam Waziri Salihu – Almajiri.

Samke Makhaba – Surviving Gaza.

Emmanuel Kuye – Ba Ni (Mud Clan).

Best Actor in a Supporting Role.

Aphiwe Mkefe – Surviving Gaza.

Wale Ojo – A Song from the Dark.

Adjetey Annag – Borga.

Tshamano Sebe – Angeliene.

Toyin Osinaike – Jolly Roger.

Segun Arinze – Almajiri.

Josh2Funny – Money Miss Road.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role.

Lydia Forson – Borga.

Samke Makhoba Surviving Gaza.

Ijeoma Grace Agu – Swallow.

Siti Amina -Tug of War.

Maryam S Wazari – Ba Ni (Mud Clan).

Dorcas Shola Fapson – Man of God.

Nse Ikpe Etim – A Song From The Dark.

Best Actor in a Leading Role.

Patrick Nkakalukanyi -Tembele.

Daniel Etim Effiong – Jolly Roger.

Gudrun Colombus Mwanyika – Tug of WarBotlhale Mahlangu – Surviving Gaza.

Eugene Boateng – Borga.

Deyemi Okanlanwo – Swallow.

Akah Nnani- Man of God.

Aaron Adatsi – Road to My Father’s compound.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role.

Euodia Samson – Angeliena.

Bless Fortune – Road to My Fathers Compound.

Osas Ighodaro – Man of God.

Ronah Ninsiima – Tembele.

Ikhlas Gafur Vora – Tug of War.

Vanessa Vanderpuye – A song from the Dark.

Nanfuna Sharon – The Wave.

Eniola Akinbo – Swallow.

AMAA 2022 Award for First Feature by a Director.

Uga Carlini – Angeliena

York Fabian Raabe – Borga.

Ogo Okpue – A Song from The Dark.

Benedict Yeboah – Road to My Father’s Compound.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Director.

Amil Sivji –Tug of War.

York-Fabian Raabe – Borga.

Bolanle Austen- Peters – Man of God.

Vusi’Africa Sindane – Surviving Gaza.

Uga Carlini – Angeliena.

Walter Banger – Jolly Roger.

Ahmed Farah – Ayaanle.

Morris Mugisha – Tembele.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Film.

Ayaanle – Somalia.

Jolly Roger – Nigeria.

Borga – Ghana.

Angeliena – South Africa.

Tug of War – Tanzania.

Man of God – Nigeria.

Surviving Gaza – South Africa.

Tembele – Uganda.

AMAA 2022 Michael Anyiam Osigwe Award for Best Film by an African-born Director Living Abroad.

Tope Oshin – Here Love Lies.

Obi Emelonye – Money Miss Road.

York Fabian Raabe- Borga.

Ogo Okpue – A song From the Dark.

Robert Peters – The Scar.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Diaspora Short Film.

Contraband – USA.

Slow Pulse – USA.

Skin Like Mine – USA.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Diaspora Documentary.

The Rumba King – Peru.

Wade in the Water – USA.

The Sun Rises in the East – USA.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Diaspora Narrative Feature.

Remember Me: The Mahalia Jackson Story – USA.

The Sleeping Negro – USA.

Not To Forget – USA.

AMAA 2022 Award for Best Achievement in Production Design.

Tug Of War.


Surviving Gaza.



AMAA 2022 Best Achievement in Cinematography.

Tug of WarTembele.


Surviving Gaza.


Road To My Father’s Compound.